Gunlord’s College Saga, Episode 61 (August 29-September 4, 2021): 1st week of my 5th semester!

Now things have really started, but I am ahead of the game 8)

GENERAL GOAL CHECKLIST:

Course 1: COM 447 (Graphics)

Project 1

Project 2

Project 3

Project 4

Lab 1

Lab 2

Lab 3

Lab 4

Lab 5

Lab 6

Lab 7

Lab 8

Lab 9

Lab 10

Quiz 1

Quiz 2

Course 2: COM449 (Ad Writing)

Project 1

Project 2

Project 3

Journalism 1

Workshop 1 – 3rd of the way done

Workshop 2

Workshop 3

Workshop 4

Workshop 5

Discussion 1 – DONE!

Discussion 2

Discussion 3

Discussion 4

Discussion 5

Blog 1

Blog 2

Blog 3

Blog 4

Blog 5

Course 3: COM 360 (Social Media Analysis)

Quiz 1

Quiz 2

Quiz 3

Quiz 4

Quiz 5

Quiz 6

Quiz 7

Quiz 8

Final project graph

Final project essay

Final project presentation

WORKIN:

Sunday:

Nice day, solid A+. Went out to eat, and read chapter 29 of Send My Regards to Kenshiro. This chapter wasn’t that funny at first, just our protag giving an anime-style speech about the virtues of being a masseur, but then his incredible skills reveal, just from his opponent’s posture, that the guy was a train creep taking pictures of young girls. So naturally the cops put him in jail and massage-kenshiro triumphs over another villain XD

Also got a bit of work on Lab 1 done, about halfway done with it! 😀

Monday:

Solid A day. Hard work, but didn’t mess up too badly.

Tuesday:

B- day 😦 I overslept and missed one of my classes, forgot to set my alarm. On the plus side tho, it was just the first class and there’s never anything important in those, just handing out the syllabus and crap. Meh…

Wednesday:

Solid A day. Worked very hard, but had a relatively decent time doing it, and I got something really nice from Amazon, a nice laptop stand with an arm that helps me relax in bed! 😀

Thursday:

A+ day! Went to my 360 class (no real work for that this week), got some yumyums at zetti’s, and then read the next chappy of Kaiju No. 8. Decent action chapter, Kafka can’t transform and has to dodge all of no. 9’s attacks shooting at him, and even worse, as you can expect, 9 is reviving all the other monsters and seems able to duplicate himself. However, just as the 9 attacking Kafka seems on the verge of killing him, Kikoru saves the day and slices him in half. The battle is continuing next week, which is good, rather than biweekly i guess for short but intense chappies like this its gonna be weekly, which keeps up the momentum.

Friday:

Another A+ day, easy! First, I finished up some important emails, including one that just might let me get out of a course I would otherwise have to take. I asked one of my oooold alma maters for the syllabus of a course I took waaaay back in 2008 or thereabouts, and if I show it to the registrar of my current uni, and if they accept it (the second is a bigger if) it might count towards a research course I’d otherwise have to take. Nice! Then I went out for some Taisho Bistro, as well as a little bit of shoppan to get a couple sundry things. Also did a bit of work. Think I’ll email my prof for the first COM 447 assignment, but I am just about done with COM 447 lab 1!

Saturday:

W00t! Went out to eat and got the 8th volume of Berserk deluxe!

Today gets an A-. Tomorrow’s gonna be very tough indeed…

THINGS I HAD TO FINISH THIS WEEK:

COM 447 Lab 1 – Just about done, just gotta submit it

COM 447 Green Assignment – I’ll ask the prof about how long exactly it ought to be.

Com 449 Assignment 1 – halfway done!

COM 360 stuff – none really this week.

THINGS I HAVE TO DO NEXT WEEK

More or less same as above.

EATAN:

WATCHAN:

Nothin really.

PLAYAN:

Nothin.

BOOK READAN:

The Midwives by Duncan Ralston. I’ll give this 4 stars. In a small island town off the eastern US coast, Barrows Bay, a group of elderly ladies who seem like nice, harmless midwives seem to dominate the town and its citizens through evil witchery, sending animals and perhaps even demons to terrorize people who don’t obey them…especially young pregnant women, whose babies are occasionally sacrificed to provide the midwives with life and power. Our protagonist is Martin, who escaped the cursed town years ago and became a true crime writer. However, one of the serial killers he wrote about, Jimmy Barclay escaped from prison and is hunting Martin and one of Martin’s ex-girlfriends, Sheila, so the two of them are sent into witness protection in Barrows Bay, as it seems to remote for Jimmy Barclay to reach. However, there Martin and Sheila fall under the sway of his mother, Ruby Savage, who was once sent away to a mental hospital when he was a child…and the true reason why, as well as Martin’s past with her, has to do with the final confrontation he’ll have with the mysterious midwives and the source of their evil power.

This is a pretty solid read. After an opening prologue/”catch” about the midwives terrorizing a pregnant girl, it starts pretty slowly with Martin complaining about his writer’s life and seducing groupies, but the serial killer pursuing him keeps things interesting until he meets up with Sheila and runs to Barrows Bay to hide from the escaped James Barclay. Once he gets there, there’s plenty of creepy shenanigans with the Midwives’ power, all of which is described pretty well and energetically, with (mild spoilers so readers know what they’re getting into) graphic violence involving suicide and murder by rampaging animals, as well as one stomach-turning scene involving eating a baby! I thought it was gross but also very scary, but sensitive readers might want to be forwarned. Aside from that, when Martin starts confronting his past, he becomes much less annoying and much more likable, so that was good. You also get to see the true nature of the evil inhabiting Barrows Bay; the unveiling of that mystery is pretty well done IMO. My only problems were a handful of grammar errors, like I think a misspelled word and a repeated word here and there, and also that the ending was kind of saccharine for my tastes. Still, it’s often fun for a gory ride to have a happy ending, so that was alright by me and I was happy to have bought this book. Again, 4 stars.

MANGA READAN:

What I said above.

WRITAN:

Just classwork.

BUCKET LIST PROGRESS

1: Read the end of Girl Genius. At least I got to see Lucrezia kicked out of Agatha’s mind, so that’s something.

2: Play Front Mission 5.

3: Play Brigandine: Grand Edition. I think I’ll work on these emulation related things when I get a new computer–a new deskie, I mean.

4: Finish up a second big project…

5: Maybe finish up a 3rd big project related to Berserk.

6: Finish a FOURTH big project I’ve had thoughts about for a while. Won’t say much more about it other than it involves Visual Novels.

7: *maybe* finish up a fic I’ve always wanted to put out. But this is really extra.

8: Maybe do something with Wayward Son I’ve wanted to do for a while, but also extra.

9: Obviously, get all my affairs in order–will, etc.

Nother week down…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.