Living the Good Life, Episode 42 (July 21, 2017 ): More go go goin!

Whoooaaaa nelleh! Lotta good stuff goin on this week!

WATCHAN:

Wish Upon: Hot damn, what a terrible movie. I went to a different theater (The Elmwood place rather than my usual AMC) and there were actually people there, which was a change from the last time I was at a theater and I was the only one there. But everyone around me laughed constantly throughout the movie, and I was laughing along with them. It’s one of those “teen horror movies,” and the acting and dialogue seems like it was written by someone who ventured into an American high school saying “How do you do, fellow kids?” At the end of it, someone in the audience just shouted out, “this movie sucked!”and everyone else, including me, started laughing and agreeing with him. I’d say I wasted 14 bucks, but I needed to get out of the house, so at least I got that, and a few laughs to boot. Thus, I ain’t too sad ๐Ÿ˜€

Knights and Magic ep 3: This was a pretty fun episode, though I’ve heard the novels had a lot more fun stuff (like weightlifting mechs!) that got cut. Ah, well…the last fight was pretty cool and it’s fun seeing the protag get so excited over giant robots. ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve also been checking out “The Civil War,” everyone’s favorite Ken Burns documentary. I dunno…I can sorta see why Professor David Blight once said it went too easy on the South. The last episode was a brief bit on Reconstruction, and they at least mentioned that Nathan Forrest helped found the Klan, but nothing on how the South screwed over the newly freed blacks. At least Burns made slavery to be the primary cause of the war, but Lord, there is sooo much tongue-bathing of General Lee. From what I’ve heard, recent scholarship has found he wasn’t quite as good as he was cracked up to be. Still, it’s a well made documentary overall and a decent introduction to the American Civil War. The behind the scenes features were nice too, there sure was a lot of technology involved in upgrading a documentary from the 80s into sweet 4k on Bluray players ๐Ÿ˜ฎ My favorite part was listening to the old black lady (she was actually the daughter of a black Union soldier and was 105 years old at the time the documentary was first made) reciting poetry from the Civil War era ๐Ÿ˜€

On a less positive note, the “Civil War in the Classroom” feature on the Special Features disc seems…well…pretty half-assed, just a brief description of how one teacher taught the documentary. And the music combined with the goofy text at the end made me think the whole thing was one of those “how do you do, fellow kids?” type things XD

EATAN:

TIMAN:

Got a new Italian, like I said last week! His screename is Pampurio, and he’s blowin’ through the Italian translations, already translated up to ep. 27! I just need to run em by my Japanese translators like I always have and we should be back in business. My Japanese translators are busy right now, but if Pampurio can get a lot of episodes translated, and it seems like he’ll be able to do so easy, the rest of the work should be smooooth sailin ๐Ÿ˜€

PLAYAN:

Juuust Total War: Warhammer. Not much to report there ๐Ÿ˜›

Also went through the Blasphemous demo. A couple of bugs I noticed, including one annoying one that made progress to the second area very difficult (a platform that doesn’t seem to register as one you can grip consistently) but aside from that it was pretty cool, the pixel art was great, controls were smooth, and gameplay fun, though there were only 3 enemies (a flagellant guy, bell ghost, and candlestick guy). Of course, there’ll be plenty more in the actual game, so no big deal. Definitely seems cool! ๐Ÿ˜€

READAN:

Not too much this week, maybe next.

WRITAN:

No writan either, just relaxan ๐Ÿ˜€

SHOOTAN:

Went back to Wolcott Guns and plinked off 20 shots with an AR-15 for a total cost of about 46 bucks (15 bucks for range time, 18 bucks to rent the rifle, 10 bucks for 20 rounds, and a buck 50 for a target, and then tax). Grr…I didn’t do too well. I had a tough time hitting theย  I can curl a 20 pound dumbbell 60 times, but the AR felt heavy and made my left arm ache while I was holding it (I’m right handed) so I think that hurt my accuracy. Some friends told me I was probably holding the weapon wrong, and that might have been it. The AR they gave me had an adjustable stock , but I didn’t touch it so it might have been an ill suited length for me. Next time I go there I’ll fiddle around with the stock and maybe try holding the gun a different way, see how that works. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

