Living the Good Life, Episode 32 (May 12, 2017 ): Another productive, but not stressful week! :D

Another week, another set of good times! And another low-down, of course 😀


WATCHAN:

Berserk 18: Excellent episode, at least by Berserk TV standards. None of the scene cuts seemed to be that poorly conceived, some nice characterization, and Guts looked pretty badass when he started cutting up those trolls. Not the best stuff I’ve ever seen, but at least it’s less disappointing XD

PLAYAN:

I was playing Long War, a famous mod for the XCOM remake from a while back. Despite its high praise, even from the developers themselves, I…Really didn’t like it. The “Long War” moniker is right–the idea behind that mod was that it would take you an (in-game) year to beat the game, as opposed to the approximately six months (in-game) base XCOM had. That was a little too long for me.

Why? Well, it really does get very repetitive, which is bad for a game that lasts so much longer than vanilla. I ended up just getting frustrated and hacking my way through it. There’s tons of new content: New weapons, new items, new monsters, new skills, new classes, new everything. The problem is, none of this content is actually “new,” it’s mostly just slightly tweaked versions of old stuff. As I said on Reddit, the new eapons, for instance–carbines, assault rifles, and battle rifles are just short, normal, and slightly bigger versions of the same ones. The aliens themselves gradually improve over time, but they just get bigger; the Chryssalid “queen” is still just an oversized version of the normal ones that still looks exactly the same. There just wasn’t enough to hold my interest. One reason I’m so glad to hear about the mutation system in Phoenix Point is that the game seems like it’ll be less repetitive–with different bodyparts, no playthrough will be exactly alike, unlike with XCOM, where I’d already seen Sectoids, Thin Men, etc. pretty much a million times.

The air combat shares these problems, IMO. Long War touted itself as having a totally revamped air combat system in which pilots could gain XP and improve over time (they couldn’t in the original XCOM). This is true…but it’s not really a “revamped” air combat system. Your pilots gain a small accuracy bonus for each UFO they shoot down, but that’s the biggest change. Otherwise, it’s just a more difficult version of the exact same airwar from XCOM, except you have to maintain more planes because alien ships are tougher to shoot down and each individual plane you have takes like a month to repair. And that’s another thing, it takes 7 days to change an aircraft’s weapon. Why? I get that the whole point of Long War was to make things take longer, but that just makes no sense. How could any relatively competent aircrew take an entire week to swap out one type of missile for another? Argh…

So yeah, not to keen on Long War, despite some interesting ideas, like a Fatigue system and a lot of new skills and items. That still isn’t enough original content for me, not when I’ve seen every model in the game so many times already. Maybe I would have liked it better if it was its own original thing instead of a mod for XCOM, since they couldn’t change that much (no entirely new enemy or weapon models). Ah, well :p

I’ve also been playing XCOM 2. That’s a bit more fun, and a lot of new content for me cause I hadn’t yet placed the DLC–Shen’s Last Gift and Alien Hunters. Shen’s Last Gift is pretty cool, and Alien Hunters…ehhhh. It has some good ideas, but the new armor sets look soooo dumb. Still, they’re okay. Once again..Ah, well :p

TIMAN:

Nothin doin this week, since I’ve been dissertationan :p

READAN:

Lot of Phoenix Point stories! They are SUPER lovecraftian, check em out 😀

http://www.phoenixpoint.info/stories/

WRITAN:

Still meandering through my dissertation. My profs still haven’t gotten back to me, so I’ve started to look at the more significant changes they asked me to make–namely, adding in even more historical context! I’ve got some ideas, so I’ll be hitting up the liberry over the weekend, I’ll tell y’all more after that. Wish me luck~

EATAN:

 

Good times, as always. See ya next week 😀

Leave a Reply

