Gunlord’s Dissertation Saga, Episode 26 (Season 2): Plodding Onwards

Urrgh…Not much to say this week, my friends. A lot of things held me up. Some were foolish–I got into an argument with someone on Reddit about classical theism which took a lot of time–while others were more unlucky, like a lot of snow making traffic worse and making it harder to get to the library! So I really didn’t get much done this week. This isn’t to say I haven’t been looking at my dissertation at all; nope. I’ve spent a good deal of time on it, but until yesterday it wasn’t very productive. I was trying to revise the introductory chapter of it, but it proved to be a little tougher than I thought…I’ve had to put some serious consideration into which parts I should keep, which parts I should delete entirely, and which parts I should move over to future chapters…the choices proved to be a little tougher than I anticipated. Not to fear, though, I settled on a few things and I’ve begun plunking down the first (new) words of my second draft! I got about 500 done on Thursday, and with this momentum I should be able to finish up revisions to the introduction later today and tomorrow, keeping myself on schedule with my “complete revisions for 1 chapter a week” goals.

Admittedly, I thought I’d be done with this sooner than I actually was…it’s a bit discouraging to have accomplished in a week what I thought I would in half of one. However, with a clearer focus, hopefully the next chapter will go better. In fact, now I’m thinking I would have been better able to write an introduction if I finished up my revisions of the other chapters first. I’m almost done with the intro, so no use crying over spilt milk, but still, when I consider that I probably have a clearer idea of what I want to do with the main body of the dissertation (intros and conclusions are always tough), it does make me think that next week will be easier.

Though probably not more relaxing…I certainly didn’t get much relaxing done this week. No videogames–I did buy Space Hulk: Deathwing, but haven’t really played it yet, I’m waiting till I finish my second draft. No anime either, Jojo will wait till next week I suppose. And of course I’m too busy to time stuff, and most of my reading is all relevant to my dissertation. Haven’t even been able to go out to many restaurants! I only managed to hit up Squire on Main once on Monday, here was what I had:

See y’all next week~

 

3 comments

  1. Heya gunlord, it’s been a while. It sounds like you’ve been working hard on your dissertation! Personally, I feel that editing is harder than writing in the first place, so props to you for making those hard decisions about what to keep and what to leave out.

    1. Glad to see you again! Yeah, I’ve definitely found that editing has challenges of its own, haha.

      1. It’s inspiring to see you working so hard and it’s hard to believe that that’ll be me in a couple of years, hahaha. You’ve got this.

Leave a Reply

