Living the Good Life, Episode 8: June 17, 2016

As you can probably tell from my previous huge entry, I’ve been having a very busy week. But not so busy I haven’t been able to get anything else done…


WATCHAN:

Finally caught up with Macross and Jojo, and also binge-watched Giant Gorg.

Gorg: Hoo boy, what a fun ride. IMO some plot points were a little silly, like the aliens being essentially human, but with teal hair–no explanation is given for that, unlike in Macross, where they at least tell you the protoculture made humans and Zentraedi. Also, what is it with teal-haired human aliens? Vifam did the exact same thing. But aside from that, it was a very fun adventure series. I’ll admit I’m a little biased, as I helped time some early episodes of it a lifetime ago, but the series stands on its own merits. YAS, the character designer for Gundam (and author of The Origin) designed and directed Gorg too, and IMO he proved he can direct well too.

 

Macross eps 10 and 11: An important character on the good guys’ side died…;_; I think they handled his death really well, though. Macross Delta in general is impressing me, I think it might be the best Macross series in a while. Also, the bad guys have gotten a HUUUUUGE new ship, so that looks like it’ll cause trouble. D:

 

Jojo eps 10 and 11: Episode 10 they go to a restaurant owned by the mysterious chef Tonio Trussardi, and lord alive, did I love that episode as much as I did the same events in the manga. I’m a softy for food, and this hit me in all the right places. 😄 😄 😄

PLAYAN:

I got 3 games recently: Odin Sphere Leifthransir, Gravity Rush Remaster, and Yoru no Nai Kuni (Nights of Azure, I think), all for the PSQuadruple. My thoughts on each:

1: Odin Sphere is fantastic. It’s a remake of the original PS2 Odin Sphere, which was good enough, but the additions, like new bosses, a revamped level system,

2: Gravity Rush is equally great. I thought the basic gameplay conceit looked fun, which was why I bought it–messing around with gravity seemed like a cool idea that hasn’t been done much, and my suspicions were certainly fulfilled, it’s very fun! What I wasn’t expecting, though, was to get so enamored with the characters. Kat’s dialogue is funny and cute and she’s really appealing, I found myself actually caring about her travails and desire to find out her true identity instead of just the “I wanna advance the plot to beat the game” sense I get from most video games. And the city itself is quite well made and beautiful, the art design is great. Generally, it’s a fantastic purchase I’d say.

Now, for Nights of Azure…

Ugh, I found the dialogue and premise to be pretty annoying and inane. It’s anime, and though you can tell I like anime as much as the next guy, it’s not the good kind of anime. The dialogue and story are pretty damn generic and inane. It wouldn’t be so bad if the game itself was impressive, but the graphics and gameplay remind me a lot more of a low-budget PS3 game than a PS4 game. I try to be understanding of those sorts of things, since graphics aren’t that important to me, but…:sighs:

READAN:

Not much aside from *The Last Superstition* over the course of this week, as you can tell what I’ve been…

 

WRITAN:

Check my previous entry–quite a mouthful, eh? ;D

TIMAN:

I’ve thankfully got a bit of work done on Dragonar–episode 19 was released this week too! 😀

https://msubsreleases.wordpress.com/2016/06/13/metal-armor-dragonar-19-aerial-weapon-platforms-dragonar/

That does it for this week. Let’s see if anything new pops up next week…

Leave a Reply

