Gunlord’s Dissertation Saga, Episode 12: My Progress So Far

Not much time today, my friends, so just a quick update. I’ve gotten an OK amount of progress over the past week, about a thousand words a day. It’s come in spurts and stops, as it often does…today and the day before yesterday it was 1000 words a day, but yesterday I got close to 4000 words written, which was very good! That’s the kind of pace I’ll need to keep up, since the “before the end of this month” deadline is looming. While I’m heartened at having written so much yesterday, I know that things might get pretty tough…long story short, for a variety of reasons I think the things I have left to do (most of chapters 3, 4, and 5-the epilogue) are the toughest. Not exorbitantly so, but I doubt I’ll be able to get “in the zone” as I was yesterday. At this point, I’ve gotten most of my primary sources down, now I have to not only analyze them but tie my analysis into the historiography/secondary literature, which might be a little harder for me than just sitting down with nothing but the primary sources and pounding away at them. Still, I don’t have much of a choice…I just gotta keep trucking. I’ll check in with everybody next week!

Leave a Reply

