My Favorite Scenes in Wayward Son

Hey guys! After such a big entry last time, I thought I’d be a little easier on myself with a smaller entry tonight. I’ll just quickly list off my favorite scenes in Wayward Son 😀 This will be in the order that I liked them, not necessarily their order in the fic itself, so watch out for spoilers!

#12: The report given by Renault and his companions to the Royal Court of Etruria in chapter 10, “A King and His Court.”

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/10/Wayward-Son

I have a soft spot for funny scenes, and I myself laughed out loud as I was writing this one–sure, the nobles are cartoonishly incompetent and solipsistic, but hey, cartoons are good entertainment. XD

#11: The first fight with Barbarossa:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/22/Wayward-Son

This was the second time I departed from the Fire Emblem ‘world,’ so to speak (the first was with Yurt, from Demon’s Souls). Still, even if it was an indulgence on my part, this battle was so crazy and frenetic that I couldn’t help but love it. Granted, maybe I’m a little biased because I was playing the song from Shadow of the Colossus I recommended in the chapter as I wrote it–“A Despair Filled Farewell.” It just cemented this installment as super epic in my mind.

10: Keith’s Death:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/37/Wayward-Son

This was undoubtedly brutal, probably the most brutal thing I’ve ever written. So hard for me to write, too ;_; Even so, I think it’s devilishly effective at what it does. Thus, it gets a shoutout as a scene I’m proud of, though it’s not a favorite in terms of what I like to read…even now its hard for me ;_;

9: Braddock’s Death:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/40/Wayward-Son

This had to be in here somewhere, right? ;D It’s honestly not my favorite scene, though, despite how emotional it was to write, because I think it may have been a little overwritten. I tried to get too much stuff in there, and Braddock might be a little too chatty for a dying guy. Still, I thought the ending image, of the dying Braddock stroking Renault’s face, is one of the most powerful in the story.

8: A brief quiet moment with Keith:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/32/Wayward-Son

This was something I’d wanted to write for a while, since Keith was explicitly written to set the stage for Renault’s friendship with Wallace centuries later (Renault had a soft spot for the squire because Wallace reminded him of Keith). Right down to Renault comforting Keith by stroking her hair, I thought it was cute…which made Keith’s death later so tragic ;_;

7: Braddock’s goodbye to Rosamia:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/39/Wayward-Son

I really liked Braddock and Rosamia’s relationship, and wished they had a happy life together…but alas, it was not to be ;_; But while I’m not much of a romance writer, I really think their farewells, especially the parting kiss Braddock gives Rosamia, is a sensible, emotionally resonant culmination of their feelings for each other, and a great representation of both their characters.

6: Renault and Braddock become blood brothers:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/33/Wayward-Son

This was another scene I’d wanted to write for a long time, supposed to recapitulate Hector from Fire Emblem 7’s character, where he does an oath thing with Eliwood (mentioned in his supports). However, I also really like Braddock’s inspiring speech to Renault, telling him not to hate religion so much, and the whole scene in general captures the theme of friendship and bonds of love (between men, between women, between people in general, platonic or not) that’s something I wanted Wayward Son as a whole to convey.

5: Bramimond’s complete PWNAGE of Renault:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/59/Wayward-Son

I love this scene because it proves you don’t even have to lift a weapon to completely destroy somebody. Renault got #REKT, and god damn did he deserve it. Bramimond gave full voice to what I’m sure everyone was thinking over the course of the story: That for all his martial prowess, and despite his smart mind, Renault was still an angry, foolish, bull-headed, obstinate, and profoundly immature little child up to this point. All his skill with the sword proves to be utterly impotent in the face of Bramimond’s power, and Bramimond finally shows him the truly good person Braddock was–which Renault was previously too blind to realize–in order to completely demolish the foolhardy beliefs which he had based literally his entire life around for the past two centuries. Now, such a profound ass-kicking pretty much blew apart Renault’s psyche, but it was also the major kick in the ass he needed to grow up. I think I portrayed it very well.

4: Renault seeing the picture of his old friends again:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/73/Wayward-Son

I admit this is an indulgence on my part…I’d wanted to portray something like this for ages, and thankfully the most excellent Databunny drew a picture of what Renault is thinking of! Even if she hadn’t, though, this scene (combined with the music I picked out) would still have a place in my heart, simply because it was as emotional for me as it was for Renault. His feelings when reminded of his much-beloved old friends–now gone–mirror my own…

3: The final showdown between Braddock and the antagonist, Paptimus:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/38/Wayward-Son

I don’t like this battle scene as much as I like the Renault v. Tassar fight, since it’s not *quite* as tightly written, IMO–it’s much longer, for one, and doesn’t involve the use of space and improvisation (going up a tower, Renault saving himself with his chain knife) that the duel did. Still, it’s damn close, because what it lacks in finesse, it makes up for in pure badassery. I just *knew* I had to have a mano a mano, bare-fisted fight between these two, given how much they absolutely hated each other, and I think I conveyed the intensity of a duel fueled by two rivals’ hatred, rage, and life-or-death determination, just like some of the climactic duels of Tekkaman Blade, which was what this one was supposed to remind you of. 😀

2: Renault’s epic duel with Tassar:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/28/Wayward-Son

Without a doubt, this is the setpiece battle I’m most proud of. EVERYTHING came together perfectly inside it, IMO. I had always thought, from the beginning of the story, that Renault would duel his mentor one-on-one in a burning cathedral. When I finally got to the scene, I found all the pieces falling together just perfectly. Tassar had killed Renault’s mother, stoking the protagonist’s hatred against him (though Renault never even liked his mother). Renault had recently promoted to a more powerful class and got a cool sword and chaindagger, meaning he would be able to stand on even ground with his former mentor. And the design of Eliminean cathedrals, incorporating a tall tower, made for a super exciting battle–a fire started on the first floor and barred the exit, meaning Renault and Tassar could only flee upwards, trying to kill each other as they did so. All of this combined to make what is, IMO, the best battle piece I’ve ever written.

And finally, #1, my favorite scene in the whole book…

You guys are gonna be surprised, but it’s this one:

https://www.fanfiction.net/s/3133712/52/Wayward-Son

The whole first part of this chapter involving Prudence.

It certainly wasn’t the most significant scene in the story, but it was hands-down the most fun to write. I was chuckling while writing the scene with the nobles in chapter 10, but I was lolin’g hard as I wrote this. The interplay between Prudence, Renault, and the rulers of Caelin just worked so well, their characters bouncing off each other so delightfully, and the dialogue so perfectly compact, building on itself (namely each character’s response), and wasting so little, that I have to give this scene the hat tip. 😀

So that’s it for me, brothers and sisters. How about you? If you’re reading Wayward Son, what have your favorite scenes been, now that the ride’s almost over? And if you’re not, but you write fiction yourself (fan or not), what are your favorite scenes of the stuff you’ve written? 😀

5 comments

  1. cormagravenstaff · · Reply

    I agree with all of those (Though #1 raised an eyebrow). My favorite was Renault v. Tassar by far. Beautiful fight!

  2. Hammershlag · · Reply

    OK, I’ve thought it over and I cannot think of a single favorite scene. The chapters, especially in Book I, are so connected in WS that I simply cannot elevate one scene above another. I do, however, have a favorite non-obvious character – Paptimus. That doesn’t mean I LIKE him, rather, I believe his character was interesting and not entirely one-sided like many FE villains tend to be.

    Cruel as he was, his endgame was to bring equality and freedom to Elibe, and he always genuinely believed he was doing the right thing. I cannot help but think what if he didn’t surround himself with men like Trunicht? What if he actually supported the villagers and provided for them, rather than taking everything for himself and his elites? What if he took the moral high ground? The ends were just, but the means were diabolical. Usually, I would say the means justify the ends, but not in this case.

    Regardless, because his intentions were in the end selfless, he was one of the most dangerous and most evil types of villains. Those who truly believe they are doing the right thing are those most likely to do whatever they can to achieve their ends and are least likely to give up. That is a major part of why World War II lasted as long as it did (at least in the European Theatre). Hitler honestly believed he was working in the best interest of Germany and really all of the West, and look at how that turned out. Even after the war was lost, he insisted the fighting continue. Countless soldiers on both sides continued to fall, all because he did not want to give up his dream and his men were blindly loyal to him. I actually found a number of parallels between Paptimus and Hitler, whether you meant the two to be similar or not.

    1. That’s a very thoughtful comment, my friend. Thank you so much for leaving it! Truth be told, though, Paptimus wasn’t really based on Hitler. He was based rather on French Revolutionary figures, who used widespread terror to advance what they thought was “reason,” much like Paptimus does.

  3. […] 52: I’ve already written about this chapter and how much fun I had writing it before. […]

Leave a Reply

