Gunlord’s favorite writing place and time! And Amazon.com hauls!

A considerably shorter and perhaps more whimsical entry for you today, my friends. Today, I’d like to talk about my favorite places to write!

I’ve worked on Wayward Son in all kinds of places. My house, my dorm room in college, my dorm room and apartment in grad school, public areas and Internet cafes, and so on, and so forth. However, I’ve found there’s one place in particular that seems to get my creative juices flowing, and one time especially in which I’m super productive.

I’ve found that I can easily get up to 2000 words an hour, sometimes more, at about 2 to 3 hours before I go to bed, sitting in an old, busted chair in my room (I have an old chair and a newer one).

I’m honestly not really sure why I’m so productive on that chair, specifically. Maybe because it’s uncomfortable and it keeps me ‘sharp,’ so to speak. Or maybe because it’s been with me for so long (I think I’ve had it for like, most of my life…over ten years, at least).

On the other hand, I have a pretty good idea of why I’m so productive when I’m about to go to bed. While I don’t like writing while sleepy, I guess the pressure of trying to write before even a vague deadline (sleep) really motivates me and sharpens my focus. I just plop myself in the chair, allow everything except the laptop in front of me to disappear, and immerse myself in the world of Wayward Son. That really gets me blazin’ and allows me to get a humongous amount of work done.

Alas, that productivity doesn’t seem to carry over to non-fiction…when I’m writing history, I have to go a bit slower and really take care to quote my sources perfectly and make sure everything is well-cited. It’s not like I can just blast the words out of my brain and onto the page like I can when writing Wayward Son. Thus, for history/’professional’ writing, it doesn’t matter when I work, in fact it’s better that I work earlier in the day. The important thing is where, and “where” is usually wherever I have the easiest access to my books and other sources. That’s usually at home where my library books are stashed, or in the library itself, obviously. XD

So, dear readers, how is it for you? Where are your favorite places to write, and what are your favorite writing times? 😀

Oh, before I go–I got yet another order off amazon.com! Check it all out:

-Agatha H. and the Airship City

-Agatha H. and the Clockwork Princess

-Agatha H. and the Voice of the Castle

I love the Girl Genius webcomic so I wanted to see how the novels were 😀

I also got:

-Ken Burns’ “The Civil War” on Bluray–I’ve always wanted to watch this and now I have the chance to experience it remastered!

-The Nazi Dictatorship: Problems and Perspectives of Interpretation, Hitler: Hubris, and Hitler: Nemesis by Ian Kershaw. Want to learn more about WWII 😀

-Volumes 9 and 10 of Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin. It’s a great manga adaptation of the original Mobile Suit Gundam, so I wanted to check it out.

-Patlabor 2: The Movie: I heard it’s damn good 😀

And, a TON of books on the Viet Nam War!

-Short Osprey history of it on my Kindle

– Vietnam: A History
Karnow, Stanley

-ARVN: Life and Death in the South Vietnamese Army (Modern War Studies)
Brigham, Robert K.

– The Best and the Brightest
Halberstam, David

-The War for South Viet Nam, 1954-1975: Revised Edition
Joes, Anthony J.

-Vietnam and America: The Most Comprehensive Documented History of the Vietnam War
Gettleman, Marvin E.

-America’s Longest War: The United States and Vietnam, 1950-1975
Herring, George

-10,000 Days of Thunder: A History of the Vietnam War
Caputo, Philip

That ought to do it for today. See you next week, friends!

One comment

  1. My favorite spot to write is lying on my bed. I can’t seem to write nearly as well anywhere else

Leave a Reply

