Moar amazon hauls!

Got some more stuff from amazon.com recently, my friends. Here’s the latest:

A History of Bangladesh, by William Van Schendel. I figured I’d learn a little more about Bangladeshi history since my folks are from there. 😀

Wings of Honneamise on Blu-Ray. This is a fantastic anime movie, so I wanted to experience it in the highest quality possible 😀

The Thing collector’s edition. I LOVE John Carpenter’s The Thing (and the original Campbell “Who Goes There?” story, though I haven’t seen “The Thing From Another World” or the 2011 prequel yet), so I really wanted this.

A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter Miller, Jr. Classic scifi, I had to read it sometime.

Self-Made Man by Norah Vincent. A lot of manospambots claim this book by a woman pretending to be a man for a few months proves that men have it harder than women, I wanted to see for myself.

Goodbye to All That, an Autobiography by Robert Graves. A World War I autobiography I hear is one of the best. I’m interested in autobiographies these days 🙂

I Am Error: The Nintendo Family Computer / Entertainment System Platform (Platform Studies) by Nathan Altice. I’m interested in video game history, so this book was relevant to my interests 😀

Freedom Is Not Enough: The Moynihan Report and America’s Struggle over Black Family Life–from LBJ to Obama by James T. Patterson. I’m also very interested in African American history, so this was VERY relevant to my interests 😀

The Second Sexism: Discrimination Against Men and Boys by David Benatar. Another book I want to check out–it seems like a manospambot broadside, but from what I’ve heard Benatar’s arguments are considerably more nuanced, so I thought it’d be worth a read.

The Martian by Andy Weir. Super popular these days, so I thought I’d check it out too.

I also got some stuff relevant to my funssertation:

-Ragged Dicks: Masculinity, Steel, and the Rhetoric of the Self-Made Man by Dr. James Catano.

The Making Of An Afro-american: Martin Robison Delany, 1812-1885 by Dorothy Sterling.

Discussions of Robert Lewis Dabney, published by Banner of Truth.

The Life And Letters Of Robert Lewis Dabney (1903) compiled by Thomas Cary Johnson.

Robert Lewis Dabney: A Southern Presbyterian Life by Sean Michael Lucas

A Controversy On Slavery Between George Fitzhugh And A. Hogeboo, primary source published by Nabu Press.

GEORGE FITZHUGH. Propagandist Of The Old South by Harvey Wish.

I’ll describe what my funssertation is about later–the next few entries I wanna make are about my fanfic, Wayward Son, which is almost complete. See ya next week! 😀

Leave a Reply

