Soldiers, Spies & Nurses Remarkable Women of the Civil War

Padre Steve's World...Musings of a Progressive Realist in Wonderland

women-civil-war-sarah-edmonds-frank-thompson-631

Friends of Padre Steve’s World

I have been doing a lot of work on my Gettysburg and Civil War text and as I was doing so I have been working on my introductory chapter. In my last revision of it I had finally decided to add a section on how the war began the process of changing our society in terms of the rights of women.

Like I said I have been revising that chapter and when I got to the section on women I was unsatisfied. This resulted in me deciding to chase some rabbits and see where they led.

The results were amazing enough that I decided to significantly expand that section of the chapter. As I looked at the lives of these women I decided that the revision needed to include at least some of these remarkable women’s stories. The sad thing is in so many histories…

View original post 4,066 more words

Leave a Reply

