My Journey to Support Gay Rights

Padre Steve's World...Musings of a Progressive Realist in Wonderland

Friends of Padre Steve’s World

Gays-military-flag-rainbow-lgbt-don-t-ask-don-t-tell-19837645_67849_ver1.0_640_480

In light of what I have been writing about the Obergfell v. Hodges and comparing that case to the historic examples of the 1856 Dred Scott decision and the 1896 Plessy v. Ferguson ruling I think it is important for my readers to know I got to the place where I have become an advocate for the rights of my friends in the LGBTQ community.

Frankly my journey has been a long strange trip. Most of my life I would have considered myself a conservative Christian and a career military officer, most of that as Pa chaplain. Generally people with similar backgrounds to me do not end up as advocates for Gays and Lesbians. But throughout my life and career I have had problems with the way other Christians and fellow military members treated Gays and Lesbians. Even in the days that I considered homosexual…

View original post 1,969 more words

Leave a Reply

