Disappointment with Dark Souls II

Well, I just beat the game for the first time a couple of days ago. And yeah, I think I can say with some certainty that I don’t like it as much as I did the previous 2 entries. I think it’s my least favorite game in the series so far, though not that bad in and of itself.

I’ll try to avoid spoilers, but two important things. First, the last boss was piss-easy. Anticlimactic, really. At least the last boss of Demon’s Souls was a fair challenge, and while the last boss of Dark Souls was also easy if you knew how to parry, aside from that he could give you some trouble. The last boss of Dark Souls II, however…well, you can just strafe around it and kill it pretty fast as long as you destroy the little mines/beacons it places every now and then.

And the ending? Bah! Again, I won’t spoil it, but in the previous two games you could choose between two endings. In Dark Souls II, however, there’s no choice at all! Really cheap and annoying, IMO. And the ending itself was nothing special, at least not in my estimation. The music was OK, but not good enough to justify the mediocrity.

I’ve started New Game +, but while there are some differences I’ve noticed so far between my second runthrough and my first, there aren’t many. Aside from increased enemy strength, there are also new enemies here and there. In previous games, NG+ was essentially the same thing as your first playthrough but with stronger foes, so I’m glad they’re changing things up a little, but…there aren’t enough new enemies to make things *really* interesting. Another mild disappointment. So overall, I’m somewhat disappointed with Dark Souls 2, though not overly so.

Ah, well…least I have anime to tide me over. I’m watching Captain Earth, Knights of Sidonia, and the Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure animes. I’m currently marathoning through the first 2 parts of JoJo so I can catch up to the currently airing show (Part 3, Stardust Crusaders). Maybe I’ll post about them next week…or maybe not. XD

One comment

  1. […] after doing so, I think I may have to revise my rankings of the Souls games I produced here. It seemed nostalgia was clouding my vision, as the original Demon’s Souls hasn’t held […]

Leave a Reply

