Writing Log #5: Plot plot plot!

Once again, I haven’t gotten too much writing done this week, but I’m not too sad. Work on the plot and background for the upcoming chapters of Wayward Son is proceeding well enough, I think. Next week I hope I can really get jump-started on the actual writing…gonna aim for a chapter finished a week, though that may be a little ambitious, haha. Maybe a chapter every two weeks.

But at the very least, I’ve got character data and chronologies set up for the next few chapters, which is important. After some discussion with my friends, I think I will attempt to have an overarching plot rather than “just” slice of life for the upcoming story arc. The thing is, I have to make it last for about 20 years! Right now, the story is taking place at almost 960 A.S (After Scouring, the timeframe they use in Fire Emblem 6 and 7). The next story arc will have to continue up to 980 A.S, because that’s when Fire Emblem 7 starts and I’ll have to intertwine Renault’s story with that of the game itself.

I do have some ideas, though. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I think a combination of mystery/searching for someone all over Elibe will cover twenty years handily. I’ve got a decent picture in my head of how I want the mini-plot to play out and I’ll set it down in my notes soon. I’ll have a figure from Varek (Renault’s new mentor)’s past ask him to find someone–but, as fate would have it, that person hasn’t been seen for many years and is reportedly wandering across the continent. So Varek has to track him down, and Renault tags along. Their quarry is such an itinerant that they follow him all across Elibe, only managing to catch up with him after two decades, at which point the arc finishes and Renault begins his pilgrimage to Valor (where he is at the time of Fire Emblem 7). This would also accomplish a few other things I had planned: It would reveal more about Varek’s past and allow Renault to travel all across Elibe–again. He’s already trekked across the whole continent in chapter 49, but that was as a mercenary. I wanted to show his new perspectives on the world’s cultures and people as a wiser, more mature holy man, so wandering around on Varek’s quest seems an efficient way to do all that.

I’m feeling pretty good about how the latter half of my primary fic is shaping up…here’s hoping those good vibes are justified 8)

3 comments

  1. Cormag Ravenstaff · · Reply

    Now that sounds interesting. I expected Renault taking on some high level corrupt clergy man, but this is better. It certainly makes me excited for the end of the month. So now I have a question, about how many chapters until we get into the FE7 time frame?

    1. Renault should be at Valor at around chapter 80, maybe a little earlier. 70-80.

      1. Cormag Ravenstaff · ·

        Truthfully, that’s sooner than I had expected! Huzzah to that, my friend!

Leave a Reply

