Quote from a /m/an on 4chan’s /m/echa board

You know something. I really don’t care. I know humanity has a future long after I’m gone. If people survived the dark ages I doubt there’s anything that can stop us short of some super advanced aliens or god. Here’s the truth at the end of the day in my opinion. If we really are the only life or even the only intelligent/sapient beings in the universe that’s great we have a limitless playground to call our own and we really are that fucking special. If there are other life forms out there that’s awesome to. Think of all the Friend we could make across the endless sea of stars. The possibilities would be limitless. However, at the end of the day I’m content to live a life in a sufficiently advanced society with things like air conditioner, computers, & penicillin. Life’s better now than it’s been for any one before me, That’s pretty cool to think about.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is enjoy what you’ve got and stop focusing on what you don’t have.

Taken from here:

http://archive.foolz.us/m/thread/9905720/#9907351

Related to my “Cosmological Musings” post, one of my brothers on 4chan’s /m/ (an Anon) said this, which really captures a lot of my feelings on the subject of human uniqueness (or lack thereof) in the universe. Either way, it makes more sense to make the most of what we have, IMO.

Leave a Reply

