Random Thoughts, Vol. I

I don’t watch much TV these days. However, I still have some contact with network television through the news I come across every now and then via search engines. I was trawling around Yahoo for a moment when I came upon this article:

http://shine.yahoo.com/healthy-living/kraft-zesty-italian-salad-dressing-ad-stirs-controversy-220105131.html

Long story short, Kraft has an ad for salad dressing involving this uber-handsum male model covered up by nothing but a tablecloth. Not exactly my tastes (I’m a heterosexual male), but nothing too objectionable, in my view. Apparently, however, this commercial was too risque for some people. And by “some people,” I mean an organization called “One Million Moms,” who, according to the Yahoo article, want to get this little ad removed.

Now, at this point in my life, not much surprises me. I can easily believe there are people silly enough to get up in arms over something as minor as a Kraft ad. Still, sometimes ruses do occur, so just to make sure I googled “One Million Moms.” And it seems the Yahoo news piece was correct. That organization does exist, and it is indeed quite irritated by Mr. Naked Kraft Dude. See what they think here:

http://www.onemillionmoms.com/issues/shame-on-kraft-for-not-fully-covering-their-models/

I won’t bother to fully eviscerate this silliness, but there are two aspects of their little screed I find amusing:

1: At first, I thought they censored words like “naked” and “genitals” because they were just dumb, silly prudes. As it turned out, for once I gave them too little credit rather than too much–the rationale behind this, in their words, is because

(An asterisk is used to ensure our emails get through to those who have signed up to receive our alerts. Otherwise, referencing specific words would cause our emails to be blocked by some Internet filters.)

Understandable, I suppose. Now that they’ve given their game away, however, I wonder if unscrupulous rusemen will start putting asterisks in their “naughty” words in order to bypass whichever internet filters these nice ladies are using?

2: According to One Million Moms, “The consumers they [Kraft] are attempting to attract – women and mothers – are the very ones they are driving away.” Just how deluded are these moms? Aside from gay dudes, the two groups most attracted to handsome naked men are (straight) women and mothers. I suppose Kraft’s campaign may be driving away *lesbians,* but given how organizations like One Million Moms are not known for tolerating gays, one would think they would approve.

Ah, well. I suppose I can credit them for giving me about five minutes of amusement.

 

Leave a Reply

